VTP servers advertise their VLAN configurations to other switches in the same VTP domain and synchronize their VLAN configurations with other switches based on advertisements received over trunk links.
In VTP server mode, VLAN configurations are saved in NVRAM. VTP client VTP clients do not allow the administrator to create, change, or delete any VLANs.
VTP is designed to work in an environment where updates are made on a single switch and are sent through VTP to other switches in the domain.
It does not work well in a situation where multiple updates to the VLAN database occur simultaneously on switches in the same domain, (resulting in an inconsistency in the VLAN database).
If you configure a switch in Transparent mode, you can create and modify VLANs, but the changes are not sent to other switches in the domain, and they affect only the individual switch.
However, configuration changes made when the switch is in this mode are saved in the switch running configuration and can be saved to the switch startup configuration file.
The output of the show vlan user EXEC command shows the VLAN in a suspended state.
VTP only learns about normal-range VLANs (VLAN IDs 1 to 1005).
Before you create VLANs, you must decide whether to use VTP in your network.
If you add a switch that has a revision number higher than the revision number in the VTP domain, it can erase all VLAN information from the VTP server and the whole VTP domain.
When you make a change to the VLAN configuration on a VTP server, the change is propagated to all switches in the VTP domain.
If the switch receives a VTP advertisement over a trunk link, it inherits the management domain name and the VTP configuration revision number.
The switch then ignores advertisements with a different domain name or an earlier configuration revision number.